SHADOWHUNTERS TV SHOW – ISABELLE AND SIMON CASTING

Hey all you amazing people out there!! As you all probably might have known, ABC Family is making a TV adaptation of Cassandra Clare’s The Mortal Instruments. I am not really sure if the TV show is going to be just about TMI and not The Infernal Devices, but the name ‘Shadowhunters’ doesn’t really specify that, so I am hoping they include all of Cass’ books, because, come on THAT WOULD BE AMAZING. In case you feel, my writing is rushed, I’m sorry. It’s just that I have found just ten minutes ago that the roles of Isabelle and Simon have been cast. So…. SOMEONE HELP ME I’M FREAKING OUT!!!!!

So that means that three characters have been cast. Jace, Simon and Isabelle.

In case you missed it, Jace is going to be played by- DOMINIC SHERWOOD. Since I have not watched the Vampire Academy movie (I have not read the books, trust me, I want to), I didn’t know it before, but if you have watched it, you might recognise him as Christian Ozera. I recognised Dominic only because he was in Taylor Swift’s Style video. And I think he will make a good Jace. Like, I really do believe he will make a good Jace. And if you think he looks a bit too old for the character, then that is because the ages are being increased to 18 in the TV show. Which, I think, doesn’t make any major changes to the plot.

Them eyes though...

Them eyes though…

Then, I was on the internet earlier on and there were these headlines which were like ‘Simon and Isabelle casting for Shadowhunters TV show.’ So naturally, like a sane person, I went OOOOOOOOOOHHHHHHH MMMYYYYYYYYYYY GGGGOOOOOOOOODDDDD!!!!!!!! And yes, that is normal under circumstances like these. šŸ™‚

So the characters of Simon and Isabelle are played by- (drumroll please) ALBERTO ROSENDE and EMERAUDE TOUBIA.

blog100

My first reaction- OK…. WHO ON EARTH ARE YOU PEOPLE!!!??? Truth- I have never EVER heard of them before so obviously I had no idea who they were. And, truth- I didn’t really care. To me, they were the people who were playing two of the many amazing characters in TMI.

First impression on Alberto- ‘OK……….. I …….. A….. He doesn’t look anything like how I imagined Simon to be!! Like this ain’t a mistake, right?’ And no, it wasn’t a mistake. Guys, honest opinion- I’m really doubtful and hesitant of him playing Simon because I just don’t see it. But who knows, maybe he’ll have a drastic makeover into Simon and maybe he’ll fit the role. I guess we just have to wait and see and be patient. (And if you know me, one thing which I definitely am NOT is patient.)

First impression on Emeraude- ‘Hmm……. I can actually see a bit of Isabelle….. Hmm…’ Once again, I was doubtful but at the same time I was like, ok, she might actually be a good Isabelle. So you can say I am actually happy with the casting for the role of Izzy.

blog101

This is just a quick post for y’all, and I really want to know your opinions on the casting, so feel free to share them!! šŸ˜€

Now, I am just excited to know who plays Clary and all the others…. SO EXCITED!!!!

Hope you all enjoyed this post!! This is TGIS who is now in fangirling mode. So bye for now and I’ll see you soon with another post!! šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€

21 thoughts on “SHADOWHUNTERS TV SHOW – ISABELLE AND SIMON CASTING

    • Same here!! I didn’t really know who I thought these characters would be played by and I was VERY surprised. But after five minutes of panicking, I was hit with the realisation that we are one step closer to getting to know who the other characters are going to be played by. Really hoping that they do a good job with the show because I am pretty sure there are a LOT of excited fans. šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Trisha Ann says:

    OMG we’re on the same ground!! Alberto doesn’t strike me as Simon. But yeah, maybe I’ll give him a chance until I see the way he’d carry the character.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah. But I really want to know who plays Clary’s character because she needs to have onscreen chemistry not only with Dominic, but also Alberto. Really excited to see how this all turns out. šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€

      Like

  2. I totally agree, I didn’t exactly picture Simon to be someone like him. I was expecting someone more pale and geeky, but Im sure with some makeup he’ll look more nerdy. And the actress for Isabelle is so pretty, so I think she somewhat fits how I imagined her. I’m also really excited to see who’s casted for Clary (and Malec because they’re one of my ultimate OTPs)! //fangirl mode on/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fangirling with you!! XD So excited for the casting of Magnus and Alec, because they are some of the best characters in TMI. The casting of Clary is going to be huge news, because she is the main character and there are so many views and opinions on who should be playing the character, and as much as I’m excited, I’m also nervous. Looking forward to see how this all turns out!! šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  3. To be fair to Alberto, I think it’s the hair in the screen shot. When I picture Simon, I still see Robert Sheehan from the movie. All that curly hair is what I see Simon sporting, not a slicked back. He just needs a good make-over šŸ˜‰

    Emeraude I think fits the bill perfectly. She has that dangerous, kick ass look to her haha

    While I’m looking forward to seeing who is cast as Clary (and I think that is the most vital casting decision) I’m DYING to know who Alec and Magnus will be. Those two are my favourite characters so I have very high expectations ā¤

    Liked by 1 person

    • OMG YESS!! Magnus is definitely my favourite character in the whole of TMI, and trust me, if they don’t choose a good Magnus, I will be VERY angry (along with hundreds and thousands of other people šŸ˜› ). So, out of all other characters, I’m really excited for the casting of Magnus and like you, I’m having some very high expectations. šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Nerdybirdy @ Daydreaming Books says:

    Totally agree with you! That’s not what I had expected for Simon, I wish it was someone else but for Isabelle’s, I think she is gorgeous and perfect for that role, but we’ll only know when she executes it. I really hope they choose someone superperfect for Clary. *fingers crossed*

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes!! I’m pretty sure everyone is really excited to know who plays Clary, and I really don’t have any guesses on who it might be. Just hoping that they choose someone amazing!! All of us Cassandra Clare fans are so worried but at the same time excited for this because, even though the movie was not what we expected, there might be a chance that the TV show is going to be AMAZING, and I’m REALLY looking forward to it. šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Ahhh this was definitely not what I thought Simon would be like… no offense to the actor! I feel like Robert Sheehan (from the City of Bones movie) was a pretty good Simon and there are other people I think would be good as well, but Alberto isn’t really what I had in mind. I will definitely still keep an open mind though! šŸ™‚ As for Isabelle, she’s alright too, but not what I had in mind either. Looking forward to seeing the rest of the cast and how it all turns out! ā¤

    Liked by 1 person

    • I very much agree with you. I mean Robert kind of looked like the Simon I imagined and even though I didn’t like the movie, I found the casting of Magnus and Simon really good. I’m really interested to see how they turn Alberto into Simon, because that is going to be a lot of change. And even with Emeraude, I had the same opinions because when I thought of Isabelle, Emeraude wasn’t exactly how I pictured her, but I feel she will end up playing Izzy’s role really well. I’m really excited to see the rest of the cast, and I feel that the TV show might end up being much better than the movie. šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  6. O.M.G.!!!! I had no idea they were making a T.V. show!!!!!!!!!!1!!!! Just for that, I owe you my life. Maybe I’m being a just a little bit over-dramatic, just a little. I think I’ll only give you five-hundred goats instead. In my opinion, I hate the weirdo who’s playing Simon. Hate is a strong word, but I’m a little bit emotional right now, just a little. He looks like a shriveled- up old person in a young person’s body. I mean, what is up with that receding hairline, people?!?! I think Izzy and Jace are amazing. I really want to see who Clary is…. If they mess this up, it might not end well…. And with that lovely thought, stay beautiful! I love your blog!
    -Nikki šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think i’ll be fine without those five hundred goats (or your life, but mostly those goats)…. But a box of chocolate cupcakes are accepted. XD šŸ˜›
      I feel that Alberto will have a makeover just to change into Simon, and I’m hoping that he will play a good Simon. I think he will, actually. Mostly because the other day, I saw a picture of him with glasses, and just SOMETHING about him reminded me of Simon. šŸ™‚
      So EXCITED for this show, and I’m really excited to see who plays Clary, because she is a really important character. But out of all of them, I’m just really excited to see who plays Magnus, because WHO DOESN’T LIKE HIM?!! HE IS AMAZING!! So whoever plays Magnus better be amazing. I JUST CAN’T STOP FANGIRLING!! šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Okay, so I may be about to annoy everyone but i’m, of course, gonna say it anyway. Right, I don’t know if I actually agree with it being serialised at all and i definitely disagree with the casting so far! So, hear me out… First, I am one of those who believe the book is ALWAYS better than the film(and to be honest I didn’t hate the film), and a HUNDRED TIMES better than the series! They just tend to change it more for dramatic effect(especially if they intend to do several seasons), they just tend not to work(The Vampire Diaries excluded). As to the casting, It may be that I thought the casting for the film really worked and that they were the perfect people for the roles, but I do think these are wrong anyway…especially simon. And i’m sorry, but Jamie Campbell Bower will always be Jace! I’m still curious though so I probably wouldn’t change the channel if it was on. I’m sorry to the enemies I may have just made. Sorry! Katherine. Ps I loved the zombie apocalypse book tag piece by the way…your reactions made my day!haha! šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s okay if you don’t like the idea of the books made into a TV or the casting either because come on, everyone has different opinions and it’s nice to know that there are so many different opinions about this. šŸ™‚ Trust me, I’m with you in the books are always better than the film part. I feel that when you are reading books, even with all the descriptions of objects and places given, you get to create how the world looks like in your mind and you kind of stick with that throughout the book. But in movies, sometimes what they show is different than what I thought it would be like and it makes me feel as if I have been imagining everything wrong. I always will watch the movies though, but I just don’t like comparing it with the book, because like you said, books are always better than movies. It was really fun reading your opinions and I found it very interesting. Thanks!! šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€

      Like

      • It’s perfectly fine! šŸ˜€ Trust me, I enjoyed reading your opinion so PLEASE don’t feel bad. I mean, it was such a change because everyone else was absolutely fangirling about it (including me šŸ˜› ) and your comment made so much sense because I understood where you were getting at and believe me when I say that I have been in your place before for something else. So feel free to say whatever is on your mind. I mean right now I’m thinking about how nice it would be to snuggle up in my bed and binge watch my favourite shows even if tomorrow is going to be a busy day. Hey! A girl can dream, right? šŸ˜› šŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment